The Art of the Essential

13 Jan

“Are you rich?”
“I have everything. I no longer even have possessions.”
~ Malcolm de Chazal

A few months ago, I met a guy in Paris whose only possessions were the ones he could fit into his rucksack. Ever since reading L’Art de l’Essentiel (The Art of the Essential) by Dominique Loreau, I have been trying to achieve a similar sort of thing.

In her book, Loreau outlines the Feng Shui principles of space clearing that bring peace into our lives. Excess or unnecessary possessions can have a negative effect on our energy, slowing us down, making us depressed or lethargic, and eventually making our possessions become the owners of our lives.

Just before the new year, I managed to clear my shed of eleven years’ worth of junk. Clothes, books, films, music, jewellery, stationery, a bike (that I rode once, six years ago), roller blades, a tent (that I borrowed from someone five years ago), and other similar things. Friends came and took what they liked, and the rest went to charity. I followed Dominique Loreau’s basic principle: if you don’t need it or you don’t love it, let it go. Unsurprisingly, I didn’t experience any remarkable feelings of loss or regret when I parted with these things.

It was a different thing, however, when I started going through my university folders. Ninety-five percent of four years of work went into the recycling bin. Four years’ worth of lectures, homework, assignments, essays, notes, photocopies and research proved to no longer be of any worth to me. When I’d finished my first round of recycling I sat back in horror… “What was my education for if only months after finishing it, I am already throwing it away?!”. I remembered my endless battles with philosophy (one of my BA subjects) and how I thought about giving it up a few months into my first term at uni. But I didn’t, because I thought it would be ‘good for me’ in the long-run.

Sitting amongst all the philosophy papers that I was about to trash, I decided then and there never to do anything with the hope that it will be ‘good for’ or ‘useful to’ my future self. I realised that we can never guess what we will want or need in the future, so the best we can do is to make the most of the present – that way, our best possible future will unfold naturally. If we hold on to objects that we don’t use now, we ruin our present by being tied to things that have no relevance to the life we would actually like to lead. If we spend our time doing things we don’t enjoy, believing that they will be ‘useful’ for our future selves, we will end up losing opportunities to do the things we genuinely love.

Living with only the essential brings freedom and peace to our lives. We are defined by who we are and what we do, rather than by what we own. When we learn to effortlessly let go of material things, we find it easier to let go of situations, places and people.  Happiness does not lie in the things we own, but in the things we give.

 On the same topic: Art of the Essential Part IIArt of the Essential Part III 

10 Responses to “The Art of the Essential”

  1. Pia 17/01/2011 at 19:16 #

    Oh wow, my thoughts have been running along exactly the same lines recently, and it was wonderful to read what you wrote here. And yes, I’m going to get the book. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 17/01/2011 at 19:31 #

      That’s great – the book is fantastic! It hasn’t been translated into English yet, but I believe that there are translations of it into other languages. Hope you manage to get hold of a copy! 🙂

  2. Expression 05/06/2011 at 19:13 #

    I enjoyed your writing style, very mature for may I say, one so young. I think I will start and clear all my old papers out. Thank you for a good read.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 07/06/2011 at 07:03 #

      Thank you. Ah, papers are one of the hardest things for me to keep sorted. Good luck for the clearing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Moving to a New Country « Love Out Loud - 03/03/2011

    […] Mar Two weeks ago, I moved to a new country. I packed all of my essentials into one suitcase and set off to start a new life. The lifestyle in my new environment is different […]

  2. A New Country, A New Adventure! « Love Out Loud - 16/03/2011

    […] weeks ago, I moved to a new country. I packed all of my essentials into one suitcase and set off to start a new life. The lifestyle in my new environment is different […]

  3. The Art of the Essential, Part II « Love Out Loud - 12/04/2011

    […] For the past two months, I have been living with only a suitcase-worth of possessions. Three pairs of shoes, three pairs of trousers, a dozen tops, two jackets, three novels, two poetry books, a make-up bag, a laptop and a couple of notebooks. For the past two months I have been experiencing the art of the essential. […]

  4. Art of the Essential Part III « Love Out Loud - 22/11/2011

    […] junk (because that is precisely what most of it was), trying to get it down to the essentials (see The Art of the Essential, The Art of the Essential Part II). During the first few rounds of sorting, I reduced the quantity […]

  5. Thank You 2011 « Love Out Loud - 17/01/2012

    […] out and getting rid of many unnecessary elements in my life (clothes, possessions, people, ideas, […]

  6. I Have Been Decluttering for Two Years « Love Out Loud - 13/08/2012

    […] The Art of the Essential […]

Leave Some Love

