When the Angels speak – listen!

15 Jan

It is hard not to believe in Angels when they speak to you so clearly. I have been referring to my mum’s pack of Angel cards whenever I have felt that I couldn’t find a good enough answer to my enigmatic life questions elsewhere. And their answers have been to the point each time.

The simplest version works like this: you shuffle through the deck of cards while concentrating on the question you’d like an answer to, or just on an area of your life that you need guidance on. Keep shuffling until you feel drawn, for any reason, to one of the cards in your hands. That is your answer.

So far, I have asked the Angels for relationship, family, career and ‘life direction’ advice. The cards that I pulled out either answered my question directly, or related precisely to the area of life that I was asking about. There are a couple of cards that I have pulled out more than once. Each had a similar message, saying that I would be helping people “during ordinary circumstances” and that I would soon be “reaching even more people”. I sat, I waited, I wondered what all this could mean and how it would manifest itself. And today I realised that one step towards this has been taken.

Upon starting my week-end shift at the independent bookshop, I noticed that we now have a Lifestyle section, for which I so hoped we’d one day make space! Noticing that its selection of books was lacking, I started compiling a list of the inspiring and life-changing books that I felt we needed to get for it. The act of compiling a list of books seemed so banal, that I barely gave it a second thought. Then suddenly I realised: I am going to be passing on the joy that I received from these books by recommending them to others. And here I was, as the Angel cards told me, “reaching a lot of people, through ordinary circumstances”.

Angel cards are one of many media through which we can receive messages, signs or answers. Other media appear in the objects and events of our everyday lives. Because of how ‘small’ and ‘insignificant’ the activity of making a list seemed, I almost overlooked what a wonderful opportunity this was to share something I love with potentially many other people. And at that moment of realisation, I finally grasped what Mother Teresa meant when she said that “Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love”. What a great joy it is to know that in our humble lives, even the smallest things can make the biggest difference!

Leave Some Love

