Destined Coincidences

3 Feb

I personally believe that there are no coincidences. Having observed that most of the coincidences that have occurred in my life have been either life-changing or of a significant importance, I have concluded that there is no such thing as ‘accidental’. A coincidence is one of two things: a sign or destiny.

A coincidence is defined as “an event that might have been arranged although it was really accidental”, or “a striking occurrence of two or more events at one time apparently by mere chance”, or even “when something uncanny, accidental and unexpected happens”. I have had some pretty weird coincidences in life: bumping into someone I know from London in a café on the other side of the world; meeting a future friend due to a decision based on flipping a coin; and most recently – being quoted on a website next to my favourite author.

This last one happened today. I searched my name on Google and found a page where a paragraph of an article that I’d written had been copied and pasted next to my favourite author’s quotes on the same topic. I had never heard of the website before and have no idea how they found and, most importantly, why they chose my work. But there it was – my words alongside those of an author who I have loved since the age of fifteen. I laughed out loud in sheer disbelief.

Although everything is obviously coincidental, ‘chance’ and ‘accidental’ somehow don’t describe this situation. My work was taken by strangers and posted on a website about a country to which I am soon moving. It happened to fit into a section about which a famous author had something to say. And not only is this a famous author, it is one of my favourite authors…who also happens to write about philosophy and spirituality.

At first, I did what we usually do when things like this happen: I laughed, said “What on earth?!” , and then got on with my day. Only a while later it hit me: this is a destined coincidence. Weird and wonderful things like this don’t happen for no reason! Calling this ‘mere chance’ would be a lame excuse to cover a lack of faith. A lack of faith in the extraordinary.

Many people don’t listen to intuition, or believe in signs or natural healing, because ‘there is no proof for it’. Nowadays, we need a contract, a bill, a letter, a statement, a signature or a certificate to believe in the validity or legitimacy of something. When we say “I trusted this man, because he is a lawyer” people nod in agreement. If we say “I trusted this man, because he had kind eyes” people take us for a lunatic. Yet we have forgotten that our intuition, the natural world and all the signs around us are stronger and more ‘valid’ than any contract or theory could ever be.

We do not need ‘proof’ to know that we love someone – we just know it. We do not need proof to think that it will rain in the afternoon – we just feel it. We do not need proof to sense that someone is looking at us – we just sense it.

In the same way, we do not need proof to know that a ‘coincidence’ is actually a sign. The only thing left for us to do is to allow ourselves to believe in it, and to follow this sign to wherever it may be pointing.

Surf Sea Sunset Beach

5 Responses to “Destined Coincidences”

  1. Pia 05/02/2011 at 07:40 #

    Yes yes yes! Oh the times I’ve been looked at as if I’d suddenly sprouted green tentacles when I in fact just said that ‘ I had a FEELING…’ about something. Intuition, we can kill it by refusing it, me, I’d rather trust the man with the kind eyes over the one with the papers of a lawyer.

  2. Pia 05/02/2011 at 07:42 #

    And Congratulations on the being quoted business, lovely! And indeed, next to a favourite author, I bet there’s more to come. 🙂

  3. Jill Assman 06/02/2011 at 01:36 #

    Oh wow! I love what you said about coincidences! Yes! Thank you for accidentally finding my blog and leaving me a comment. Your sweet words mean a lot to me. I have recently been trying to get back into the blogging habit after letting it slide for quite some time. Very few visit me anymore… but hopefully that will change. I will definitely visit you again… your words really stuck with me in this post…. thank you again! Please visit my place again soon.
    Jill

  4. avenues of artistry 06/09/2012 at 06:13 #

    YES!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life’s Beautiful Surprises « Love Out Loud - 04/04/2011

    […] at the right time”. This can also be called ‘sheer accident’ or, as I like to call it, ‘destined coincidence’. With no prior planning or intention, we meet someone, see something or participate in an event […]

Leave Some Love

