Start the Day by Doing Something You Love

18 Feb

When we start the day by doing something we love, the rest of our day is utterly transformed. By doing something we love first thing in the morning, we set our mind and soul into a positive mode. We dedicate a moment of pleasure to ourselves, before dedicating the rest of the day to less enjoyable activities. This leaves us more relaxed, as we are not constantly worried about “getting some free time” to do what we want later on.

Setting aside even ten minutes for yourself in the morning will have positive results. This week, before starting work, I have been reading poetry or an article in my favourite magazine, I have been updating my blog, and I have been taking some extra time to pamper myself.  Any of these activities take as long or as little as I choose, but it is not their duration that makes a difference, so much as their simply taking place.

When we start the day by doing something we love, we are more likely to approach our daily tasks with calm and concentration. At work, we stop watching the clock to check how long we have left until we will be free to go; we stop worrying about the fact that we never have the time to do what we love; and we stop being frustrated when, in the evening, we are too tired to do something for ourselves.

By doing one small thing that we love at the start of the day, we are giving ourselves permission to enjoy life, to regain our sense of self and to see the rest of the day in a more positive light. There’s nothing better than waking up and knowing that we have something interesting to do!

5 Responses to “Start the Day by Doing Something You Love”

  1. bendedspoon 18/02/2011 at 10:54 #

    I so agree with this one! And to enjoy the day and myself more, I write in my journal the things I’m thankful for from the moment I wake up.

    Happy day to you 🙂

  2. brightbunch5plus1 18/02/2011 at 11:11 #

    So, SO true! and something I have just recently started doing. I never realized how getting up, and taking a few moments to myself could make all the difference in the world! Great post!

  3. nrhatch 18/02/2011 at 16:09 #

    This is WONDERFUL advice.

    Even if we just take 10 minutes to think about the things that we LOVE about our life . . . it puts us in the frame of mind to focus on the positives as we go through our day.

    And whatever we choose to focus on grows LARGER!

    Once the “me” time is up . . . eat the frog first. Do the one thing you LEAST want to do first and get it out of the way so you can enjoy the resat of the day.

  4. Pia 21/02/2011 at 16:09 #

    Such good advice indeed. I used to read a bit of poetry every morning, and have completely forgotten how nice it made every morning feel. Must start again, thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Pia

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eat the FROG First! « Spirit Lights The Way - 19/02/2011

    […] For some WONDERFUL advice, check out Love Out Loud’s latest post . . .  Start the Day by Doing Something You Love. […]

Leave Some Love

