First Solo Yoga Practice

28 Feb

I attended my first yoga class ten years ago, yet had never, during all these years, practised yoga alone, without a teacher. Until today. Inspired by John Archer’s post Thoughts On Yoga, I had my first solo yoga practice at home this evening. The experience was truly amazing.

I fell into the practice very naturally; my body told me exactly what it wanted me to do. I flowed from posture to posture, without thinking about what should come next, letting myself be guided by what my body was drawn towards. It was great to have the possibility to stay in postures for as long as my body needed it, rather than following the rhythm of a class, which we do not always coincide with. Being able to listen to my body and do postures in my own rhythm and my own order made me get exactly what I wanted/needed from the practice. Not having any external guidance in a teacher made me tune in and pay more attention to what was going on inside me.

After the practice, I felt rejuvenated; I regained energy and was in a positive mood. I felt healthier and my mind was very calm. I am extremely grateful to have discovered this new way of practising yoga, and I look forward to continuing this profound ‘solo’ journey.

4 Responses to “First Solo Yoga Practice”

  1. John Archer 28/02/2011 at 23:29 #

    I guess I’m a bit too emotional but reading this brings tears to my eyes. I am so happy for you. Your humility and sincerity comes through in your writing.

    Classes are really good for learning. Once you know how – try it alone. Practicing solo puts all the focus on you and your inner experience. It brings it all home to the inner you. The ultimate goal of any of the various yogas is for the practitioner to experience the ultimate joy within. It always has been and always will be a solo journey. YOU are an inspiration – and I love the picture. You’re going on my blogroll and I’m posting a link to this on my Facebook page.

    I don’t know if you saw it, but the writing I am most proud of is entitled “a special place”: http://johnarcher11.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/a-very-special-place/. I’d like to know what you think.

    Good luck with your life.

    . . ./John

    • l0ve0utl0ud 03/03/2011 at 08:30 #

      Thank you very much for your very touching words. But most of all – thank you for the inspiration that lead me to discover this new and wonderful way of practising yoga! I really value your advice and support, and I am very happy to be able to share my experiences of yoga with those who love it as much as I do. Wishing you all the best

  2. Seasweetie 01/03/2011 at 03:17 #

    loveoutloud, you expressed your feelings about yoga so beautifully that you inspire me to try it again. Thank you!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 03/03/2011 at 08:23 #

      I am very happy to have been able to remind you of the beauty of yoga. I wish you all the best in your yoga journey!

Leave Some Love

