Clouds in a Cup

27 Mar

We have all been guilty of looking at an object a million times, but never noticing it. We walk past flowers on our way to work, but we are in a hurry, so we only glance over them. We hear a busker playing a moving song on the metro, but we have to finish reading our newspaper, so we block the sound out. We have windows facing west, but we don’t take a moment to look at the sunset, because there is a show to watch on T.V.

In this way, we miss the simple beauty that is constantly around us. We search for meaning in material or virtual things, when real meaning is right outside our doorstep. Trying to find meaning in anything other than our everyday lives is like going on a treasure hunt across the world, with the treasure already in our hands. To notice the preciousness of life simply means shifting our attention to the small things, the tiniest details.

A few days ago, I was drinking tea on the balcony. I do this every day, and this time did not seem to be different to any other time: the view was the same, the sounds were the same, the tea tasted the same. But one thing was different: as I raised the tea to my mouth, I noticed that there were clouds in my cup.

Clouds in a Cup

The sky was reflected in the water! I had never noticed this before, yet this small detail, this minute observation, made a huge difference. I was no longer just gulping my tea down and clearing my mind during my work pause; I was genuinely enjoying being on my balcony, drinking tea and looking at the sky.

Reflection of Clouds in Tea

The Clouds in the Sky

This change in perception transformed my ten-minute break and it transformed the rest of my day; I had seen something new and experienced something original, which put a smile on my face and lifted my mood.ย It doesn’t take a lot to be happy!

All around us there are things to inspire us, make us smile and fill us with energy. All we have to do isย notice the small details and see them for the significant things that they are.

21 Responses to “Clouds in a Cup”

  1. Charlotte 27/03/2011 at 16:25 #

    [Trying to find meaning in anything other than our everyday lives is like going on a treasure hunt across the world, with the treasure already in our hands] I think I’m going to borrow this if you don’t mind.
    Lovely pics.

    How do clouds taste like? I always wondered that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nice post, really nice.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 31/03/2011 at 17:08 #

      My cloud-tea tasted of mint and honey. I wonder if real clouds taste the same way. I always thought they’d be more like candy floss ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for stopping by at Love Out Loud.

  2. Seasweetie 27/03/2011 at 16:30 #

    Love this! When people ask me what kind of photography I do, I tell them that I capture intimate landscapes – the tiny details that they probably see every day, but never notice – the beauty in small things in a great world, that are sometimes seen only by changing the way you look at things. You’ve captured that right here, and I thank you.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 30/03/2011 at 16:32 #

      Thank you very much for your beautiful words. I, just like you, love capturing “the beauty in small things in a great world”. It is what makes photography so enjoyable for me. And the same goes for writing.

  3. John Archer 27/03/2011 at 18:06 #

    Well, well. what a wonderful post. AND you took the time to take photos – good photos. You’re right, we don’t take the time to see. It is because our awareness of what is really happening is screened by the constant chattering of the mind, diverting our attention from the real to the unreal. Thank you for this!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 30/03/2011 at 16:30 #

      Yes, the mind is constantly at work, distracting us from our intuition, our soul and our energy. Being aware of both mind and spirit is the first step to living a life that is more aware.

  4. 2Da1 28/03/2011 at 07:35 #

    How sweet a post you posted here. Thank you for sharing. Aren’t we all – to a certain extent – walking around looking for inner and outer wealth, our pockets filled to the brim with gold we never even noticed.

    Thanks for the sharing and pointing.

    Peace and blessings,
    2Da1

    • l0ve0utl0ud 30/03/2011 at 16:28 #

      You are right, we all have abundance…we just need to embrace it! Thank you for stopping by at Love Out Loud. All the best

  5. Pia 29/03/2011 at 10:27 #

    Ooooh, I’ve been away for so long and immediately as I started reading this post I got this feeling of well-being just flooding me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happiness is made of little things, clouds in a tea-cup, or just reading a post on your coffee break that makes you just want want to smile.

    Lots of love.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 30/03/2011 at 16:26 #

      I’m very happy that the clouds in my cup made you smile ๐Ÿ™‚ It looks like life’s little pleasures can be passed on to make others feel good, too ๐Ÿ™‚ Love

  6. tiffynico 01/04/2011 at 00:18 #

    Those are beautiful… I need to keep a look out for things like this ๐Ÿ™‚

    • l0ve0utl0ud 02/04/2011 at 11:59 #

      Thank you! Yes, things like this are sometimes hard to notice, but they are truly magical once you do ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. ladyfi 01/04/2011 at 03:45 #

    We carry treasures and beauty within -you’re so right about that.

    Love the creativity of seeing clouds in your tea!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 02/04/2011 at 12:00 #

      Thank you very much. Who would have known that cups of tea could be so fascinatingly creative? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Lenore Diane 02/04/2011 at 14:10 #

    Very nice. Glad you shared this with us, though the fact that your own day was transformed is what matters most. Well done.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 03/04/2011 at 22:02 #

      Thank you for your kind words. Glad to share my lovely moments with you.

  9. thesunshinediaries 05/04/2011 at 09:17 #

    it’s amazing what little things we take for granted. there is beauty everywhere, we are just not always looking closely enough for it. thanks for this post. xx

    • l0ve0utl0ud 11/04/2011 at 20:26 #

      Yes, the most beautiful things are in the most simple things. Thank you for stopping by at Love Out Loud.

  10. allthesoftplaces 01/05/2011 at 20:05 #

    beautiful words and images, thank you! It’s the seemingly insignificant things that hold the most meaning I think. Nice to have captured some of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    psst. I just stumbled upon yr blog and it’s filled with goodness ๐Ÿ™‚

    • l0ve0utl0ud 01/05/2011 at 20:35 #

      Isn’t it wonderful finding meaning in the small things? ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for visiting Love Out Loud!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Am I worth reflecting? « Tammy Rowland Coaching - 08/04/2011

    […] read a blog post called โ€œClouds in a Cupโ€ that sent me off on a reflection about […]

Leave Some Love

