A True Moment of Peace

29 Apr

It was a mild and clear evening today; I had dinner on the balcony and decided to stay outside until it got dark. Legs crossed in half-lotus, I sat and watched.

I watched aeroplanes draw pink lines across a blue backdrop. I watched the leaves on the trees wave gently to me. I watched a thin purple cloud spread its thin limbs for the night in a comfortable place in the sky. I watched the wind play hide and seek between the branches. I watched the sky put on its grey pyjamas. I watched the trees fall asleep when the wind got tired of playing with them. I watched pollen float from left to right, as if unable to make up its mind about where to land.

There were sounds too, of course. Leaves whispering secrets to each other before lights out, birds singing lullabies, and dogs tiptoeing outside the house.

As I sat watching and listening, I lost track of time. Was I outside for ten or twenty minutes? Or perhaps I was there for half an hour?

Absorbed by nature, I felt myself extending into its vastness. During this moment, I felt open, still and quiet, just like the trees, the grass and the sky around me. I was meditating without knowing it.

By taking a rare opportunity to observe a tranquil evening, I got a rare experience in return: a true moment of peace.

19 Responses to “A True Moment of Peace”

  1. Seasweetie 29/04/2011 at 21:23 #

    Thank you for sharing this. It took me back to similar experiences that I’d forgotten. Abd your evocative words made me feel your peace.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 01/05/2011 at 20:25 #

      Thank you. It’s wonderful to remember moments of calm and peace, whatever may make us think of them.

  2. Julia T 30/04/2011 at 00:35 #

    That sounds so beautiful. I hope one day I can have an experience like that. I’m just waiting for this cold spring weather to turn into warm summer weather. Then I plan to wake up at dawn and practice yoga outside in the garden as the sun rises. (How idealistic and romantic, I know, but it will be very peaceful.)

    • l0ve0utl0ud 01/05/2011 at 20:29 #

      Yoga outside at sunset is something I’ve been meaning to do for several weeks! I hope the warm weather comes soon for you and that you get to have this wonderful experience. I’d love to hear about how it goes for you, and I’ll try and make it happen for myself, too πŸ™‚

  3. John Archer 30/04/2011 at 01:01 #

    Very nice writing. You conveyed the feeling wonderfully. Thank you.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 01/05/2011 at 20:31 #

      I am very happy that I was able to share the feeling of calm I felt that evening.

  4. Lenore Diane 30/04/2011 at 01:22 #

    Beautifully written. Thank you.

  5. Nicola Karesh 30/04/2011 at 11:54 #

    Nice feeling, thank you!

  6. Piia 01/05/2011 at 05:25 #

    Lovely, and written so beautiful, like a poem. We all need these moments of true peace withing ourselves.

    Piia

    • l0ve0utl0ud 01/05/2011 at 20:32 #

      Thank you. Yes, those moments of peace are so essential, yet very rare…which makes them all the more special.

  7. thisbookwyrm 04/05/2011 at 05:38 #

    Thanks for following my site! Your post is very poetic and lovely. Keep writing!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 05/05/2011 at 09:20 #

      Thank you very much. I really enjoyed reading your posts and look forward to reading more πŸ™‚

  8. comingeast 04/05/2011 at 10:40 #

    It is a rare moment when we can truly be “in the moment,” and you certainly were. Oh, to take time for ourselves to experience that every day! Enjoyed your descriptions.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 05/05/2011 at 09:21 #

      It is surprisingly difficult to be ‘in the moment’, and to be this every day. It’s a continuous work in progress πŸ™‚

  9. wayne 05/05/2011 at 10:52 #

    I recently gave myself the gift of sitting for an hour (and not at a computer) inside a conservatory in a space dedicated to desert plants. May we both be kind to ourselves and give ourselves time to sit and observe the beauty.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/05/2011 at 21:04 #

      That’s wonderful; it’s great that you are giving yourself time out for contemplation and quiet. May our days always have moments of calm.

  10. Thaanie 14/05/2011 at 07:09 #

    Peace Is Awesome, I agree! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changes | Love Out Loud - 20/10/2013

    […] years ago, when I had the time to go for long morning walks, when my evening activities included sitting outside in silence listening to nature, and when my immediate surroundings inspired me into […]

Leave Some Love

