Life Above All

4 Aug

“Things I have learnt on holiday this week: …(point 10) I would prefer to rest and to listen to the sea rather than to carry on writing.”

Journal entry 26/07/11

This summer, I am blessed to have beaches to walk on, seas to swim in, villages to visit, films to watch, books to read, dinners to cook, friends to host, bikes to ride, mountains to climb, cards to play, wine to drink, sun rays to catch, photos to take.

This summer, my mind has remained passive and my body has become active. I want to feel, not think. I want to experience, not analyse. I want to participate, not create.

This summer, I listened to my whole being,which asked for mental rest and physical activity, and I ignored the voice of ‘shoulds’, which told me that I “should read and write and keep up intellectual activity”.

I’m glad I didn’t listen to this nonsense or else I would have missed out on some pretty awesome moments.

Red Sky over sea


With thanks to Meredith for the inspiration!

8 Responses to “Life Above All”

  1. tammyrowlandcoaching 04/08/2011 at 17:59 #

    Who could blame you for truly enjoying your space and time this summer. The “should” need be kicked to the curb forever! I always enjoy your perspective.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/08/2011 at 14:03 #

      Great attitude to the ‘shoulds’! It made me laugh and I will think of it next time that nagging voice comes back again 🙂

  2. Lenore Diane 04/08/2011 at 19:21 #

    “my mind has remained passive and my body has become active. I want to feel, not think. I want to experience, not analyse. I want to participate, not create”

    Congratulations to you. Love the mind becoming passive, while the body becomes active. Excellent.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/08/2011 at 14:04 #

      It feels really good to have an active body and a passive mind! I hope there will be more moments like this in the future.

  3. Day I Started Reading 19/08/2011 at 22:18 #

    I am glad that you are busy living this summer! 😀 Love life, love every minute of it. ❤

    • l0ve0utl0ud 31/08/2011 at 16:38 #

      Yes! Sunny days are only here for a short time, just like many other moments. Must make the most of it 🙂

  4. thisbookwyrm 24/08/2011 at 13:01 #

    I love this post; I’ve been having some similar “shoulds” as I increase my level of physicality. You did the right thing! Our minds cannot function without healthy bodies to house them.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 31/08/2011 at 16:39 #

      Precisely. We must nourish our bodies as much as we nourish our minds!

Leave Some Love

