Return to Yoga

7 Sep

“I haven’t done any exercise for five years”. I think of my friend’s words with horror as I practice yoga for the first time in two months. My muscles are tight, my joints creak and my limbs just refuse to bend into place. It’s clear that my body has not appreciated being abandoned during the summer.

My yoga journey between spring and summer was full of discoveries and disappointments. I experienced the joy of my first solo yoga practice, as well as the frustration of not being able to find a suitable yoga teacher. I tried half a dozen classes, but none of them gave me the feeling of peace and well-being that I treasured so much in my previous schools. I settled for a class with an experienced teacher who had trained in India. With her, I learnt perfect alignment, but I learnt this through harsh discipline and fear; she would raise her voice at our ‘mistakes’ and would rarely return a smile.

By her last class in July I was tired, frustrated and disconnected from my physical and spiritual states. I had lost all interest in yoga. I couldn’t even remember why I had enjoyed it in the first place. Did it once really make me feel good? Did it really have such an important role in my life all these years? I did not practice once in the two months that followed and even felt repelled when simply thinking about it.

However, yesterday, something shook me out of my slumber. After a whole day slouching and stressing in front of the computer I could feel my body yearning for just one thing. Without further thought, I rolled out my dusty yoga map onto the bedroom floor…and suddenly….I remembered!

I remembered how amazing it feels to S-T-R-E-T-C-H.

I remembered how satisfying it is to let your body tell you exactly what it needs.

I remembered how relaxing and refreshing it is to go with the flow of your breath.

I remembered how satisfying it is to heal your body with every pose.

It was the most natural thing to let myself be guided by my body; it knew more than my mind about my current state of health and spirit.  During that practice I needed no explanation for why I love yoga. In my mum’s words, “It’s not about how far you can stretch; it’s about how you feel in the stretch”. With new yoga classes starting this September, I will choose a teacher with whom I can connect on the spiritual level, and for the rest I will listen to my body for guidance.

6 Responses to “Return to Yoga”

  1. Lenore Diane 08/09/2011 at 00:32 #

    I really need to make time for yoga. I hear wonderful things about it. I love stretching when I go walking. Though, I haven’t exercised in months. I know. Time for a change.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 09/09/2011 at 18:43 #

      You should definitely try yoga if you haven’t already. Try out different styles and teachers to find something that suits you, and your body will be forever grateful 🙂

  2. sophabroad 08/09/2011 at 22:40 #

    It’s great that you managed to find your way back to yoga – it would have been such a shame to give up something that seems to have given you such joy and well-being in the past. =] I’ve never tried yoga but I’d really like to – it sounds extremely relaxing, and I bet it would be a great way to start the day or to wind down in the evening.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 09/09/2011 at 18:45 #

      As I said to Lenore Diane, definitely give yoga a go! It does wonders for the body and for the mind. You can adapt your practise to help you relax or give you energy, to improve concentration or to calm stress. And nothing works the body the way thoses poses do!

  3. Mai Mergili from PENCIL PILLOW 11/09/2011 at 14:41 #

    I can totally recommend Yoga. I am not that sportif but Yoga was so great. You become more patient and calmer, that’s so great and a great relief. Yoga is one of the little sports I like!!!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/09/2011 at 22:52 #

      I completely agree – yoga has so many benefits for both the body and the mind. Great to know that you enjoy it, too 🙂

Leave Some Love

