A Test in Disguise

18 Sep

“This is a test,” I thought, as I came out of a particularly successful interview for the world’s most boring job. “This is a test to see whether I accept the first thing that comes along for the sake of financial security, knowing that I will hate my job from the first week and that I will be sacrificing my dream for it”.

When we set along the path to make our dreams come true, many things can hinder us and test us. Obstacles come in the way; some to slow us down and test our patience, others to challenge us and make us prove to ourselves and the universe that we are truly 100% set on making our dream come true. Some of these tests are very sly, camouflaged in the routine of daily life. Such as a job offer promising financial security.

“What effect will this job have on my life?” I asked myself on the way home from the interview. “I will be bored after the first week. I will be disappointed not to be using my skills and qualities. I will be frustrated not to be doing what I love, or even enjoy. This will often put me into a bad mood, and perhaps even depression. These negative feelings will cause serious problems in my personal life; I will be moody, jealous and unsatisfied. I will always be thinking that I am wasting time, when I could be spending this time doing something I love. I will put my dream on hold for another year. I will probably lose the faith and energy to start trying to make it come true once my contract with this company ends.”

And to think I was actually considering inflicting all of this upon myself by accepting the job!

Luckily, I realised that this was a test in disguise. Luckily, God whispered in my ear and told me to look at this ‘opportunity’ in the light of my dreams. By putting aside financial stability and by listening to the yearnings of my soul, I was able to get a clearer and truer vision of the decision at hand.

I thank You, God – both for testing and guiding me. I thank You for reminding me of the importance of my dream. I thank You for sending me back on the right path. And if there are others who stray, others who forget, others who do not notice the tests that come their way, others who come across obstacles, please, whisper in their ear, too. Please help them to remember their dreams.

Amen.

4 Responses to “A Test in Disguise”

  1. Meredith 20/09/2011 at 17:39 #

    This post couldn’t have come at a more relevant time for me. I’m struggling in my search for a job, but I am also committed to not settling for one I know won’t fulfill me. Thank you for the encouragement.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 22/09/2011 at 08:42 #

      Good luck with the job hunt! I’m sure something wonderful will come your way soon 🙂

  2. Julia T 20/09/2011 at 23:51 #

    I’m glad there is someone else in the exact same spot as I am. I’ve been so stuck lately and I’m about to post on the exact same theme.

    “And if there are others who stray, others who forget, others who do not notice the tests that come their way, others who come across obstacles, please, whisper in their ear, too. Please help them to remember their dreams.”

    Amen!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 22/09/2011 at 08:43 #

      I hope that you manage to find the best path for you.

Leave Some Love

