Autumn has Arrived

22 Sep

There’s no doubt about it: autumn has arrived. Tress are taking off their lively summer garments and dressing in warmer tones. The sun no longer stays out to play between the leaves until bedtime, but retreats not long after dinner. In the mornings, the grass is shining with dew and the last wisps of night mist float between the blades. As I open the windows upon waking, cold air pricks at my sleepy skin and I can barely spend a moment appreciating the flowers before shaking from the moist air.

A few weeks ago my whole body ached with the stuffiness of the house in the afternoon. Shutters would be closed to keep out the heat and walks were reserved for evenings. Today, I can barely change my clothes quickly enough to avoid the damp from penetrating my bare skin. It is now even too cold to sit day-dreaming on the balcony, as I often did in previous months.

Autumn was once my favourite season and I thought that my northern soul could never love the heat waves of the South. But now that the seasons have changed at the blink of an eye, now that short days and sharp winds are ahead, I regret not having had the chance to say goodbye to summer…

4 Responses to “Autumn has Arrived”

  1. SaraPey 22/09/2011 at 21:25 #

    Well, you could always come to Portugal because it’s still hot as hell – guess the seasons are really changing…!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 23/09/2011 at 14:01 #

      Oh, I’d love to go to Portugal! Enjoy the heat for me 🙂

      • SaraPey 23/09/2011 at 17:42 #

        I will 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foto Friday IV « Love Out Loud - 01/10/2011

    […] the camera in a fixed position. I would have willingly accepted some gloves and a hat. I thought autumn had come for good and so I wanted to capture its […]

Leave Some Love

