What Gets You up in the Morning?

5 Oct

Waking up in London is easy. From 5am I hear the delivery and rubbish trucks moaning in the streets. From 6.30am buses open and close their screeching doors every fifteen minutes outside my window. From 7.30am the hum of cars at the cross-roads signals that the city is awake. Millions of people are already preparing for a day of action and decision, of learning and discovery, of fulfilment and happiness. By 8am I bury my half-open eyes into the warm pillow, relishing the smell of sleep and sweet dreams. I know that in the neighbourhood someone has already done a morning work-out, had a fresh fruit juice, read the paper, got their kids ready for school, prepared lunch for the family, and is on the way to work, looking fresh and full of energy.

“I gotta get moving,” I mumble to myself, stretching in bed and reaching for my diary. “How many things are programmed for today?”

Waking up in the South of France is a challenge for the unprepared. Heck, even the locals seem to have a hard time making out of bed on time for work. Shutters keep out the sunlight, making the body insensitive to the time of day. Living in suburbia, my morning alarm is a rooster calling out from a neighbouring house. Birds tell each other their dreams and I listen, lulled back to sleep by their songs. The elderly gentleman in the house opposite is no doubt walking around his garden, checking what changes the night brought on his crops. The cats are stretching on their fences, wary of getting their paws wet on the shimmering morning dew. The sun, like a ripe grapefruit, is peeking out to check that the world is ready for him. My plants are shivering in the shade; the warmth won’t get to them until the afternoon.

The alarm rings for the third time. “I should get up,” I think to myself, seeing the sunlight creep in under the door “Or else I’ll miss the cool smell of morning air, the shadows cast on the kitchen walls by the rising sun, the rare stillness of the trees, and the silence that falls upon the whole of nature in the early hours of day”. I open the shutters eagerly and a smile spreads across my face. “Good morning to you too, Mother Nature!”

9 Responses to “What Gets You up in the Morning?”

  1. Charlotte 05/10/2011 at 10:36 #

    Well I’m sure you are thrilled to be waking up in that enviroment and not in London. I would be too. Ohh birds singing and the smell of fresh morning pollution free… that sounds great!!

    My cat is usually the one who gets me up in the morning either because he’s hungry or just want to play. He wakes up with such energy, God I envy him 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 07/10/2011 at 11:53 #

      I’d love for a pet to wake me up! Perhaps it could pass on some of its energy to me, too 🙂

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster 05/10/2011 at 13:03 #

    Although I literally get my son up in the mornings, he is the one who really gets me up in the morning.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 07/10/2011 at 11:53 #

      It’s so wonderful to wake up for the people we love.

  3. Debby 05/10/2011 at 13:33 #

    Lovely writing! You’ve given us a taste of those first moments of a new day in an offering that is sublime and mentally delicious. Thanks so much. And here’s hoping the rest of your day is as yummy as your waking.

    Debby

    • l0ve0utl0ud 07/10/2011 at 11:54 #

      Thank you! Yes, I love it when when yummy wakings lead to yummy days!

  4. ramonadepares 08/10/2011 at 06:45 #

    Lovely! Waking up in the south of France sounds like the kind of lifestyle I would love… Your post painted a beautiful picture for us!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/10/2011 at 10:45 #

      I’m glad that it congures up positive images 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changes | Love Out Loud - 20/10/2013

    […] My lifestyle is changing, and it even seems like my world today is completely different to the one I lived in two years ago, when I had the time to go for long morning walks, when my evening activities included sitting outside in silence listening to nature, and when my immediate surroundings inspired me into creativity. […]

Leave Some Love

