The Name is Lupus. Do You Know Who I Am?!

11 Oct

Recently, a fellow blogger (or, to be more precise, my first fellow blogger) posted a video that sadenned and scared me, that surprised and shocked me.

The video is about Lupus. It is something about which I had no knowledge; I’d never even heard of it before reading about it on her blog. Yet it is something that is affecting the lives of millions of people around the world.

If, like me, you haven’t heard of Lupus and have no idea what it is, please watch the video.

~

Let’s spread awareness, in any way we can.

8 Responses to “The Name is Lupus. Do You Know Who I Am?!”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster 12/10/2011 at 17:35 #

    I learned about Lupus when my law school roommate and dear friend was diagnosed with it. It’s been a struggle for her since, but she’s used that struggle to create support networks as well raise funds and awareness.

    A year or two ago, she met Paula Abdul (who also has Lupus) at a Lupus function. Most of what she’s experienced since she started feeling her mystery pains hasn’t been for smiles, but that was. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 12/10/2011 at 20:41 #

      I wish your friend all the best and hope that her journey is one of discovery, courage and love….and, smiles too, of course 🙂

  2. Day I Started Reading 12/10/2011 at 22:44 #

    WOW I had no idea what Lupus is. Really informative. Thanks for sharing!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/10/2011 at 09:54 #

      I think many people have never heard of it. Glad to share the video with you.

  3. Ariel Havanah 01/11/2011 at 18:45 #

    It’s interesting,back when I use to watch alot of HOUSE they were always guessing that Lupus was what was wrong with the patient. That was always there first guess and it never ended up being it. I remember thinking O.K. !?!?! Are you ever going to fill us in on what that is?!?!? Then I researched it and found out that it wasn’t as common as the show made it out to be, but apparently it’s very similar to every other disease… Or at least that’s how the show made it

    • Piia 02/11/2011 at 09:52 #

      Yes, it sort of is similar to many other diseases and yet completely unlike any other. Some doctors call it the ‘great pretender’, because it mimics so many other diseases and is therefore really difficult to diagnose. And many doctors never even think of that possibility, though maybe after House it has become at least slightly more ”famous”. Also, no two Lupus or SLE cases are ever the same, so even finding a working and suitable treatment can be a nightmare. After I was diagnosed I actually remember myself watching House and commenting something like ” Hah! But sometimes it IS lupus!” to one of his comments about it never being lupus…:)

  4. Piia 02/11/2011 at 09:54 #

    Thank you, dear, for posting the video. ❤ More information means more acknowledgment of the disease and that means more funding for research, and that means that maybe one day there will be if not a cure, then at least a proper treatment found for lupus.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 03/11/2011 at 20:59 #

      Let’s pray that one day very soon there will be both a treatment and a cure for lupus.

Leave Some Love

