Happiness Project

3 Nov

“I am not happy”, the thought that we all dread came to me earlier this week. I realised that I am no longer happy in the city to which I moved ten months ago, I am no longer happy with my lifestyle and I am no longer taking pleasure in my every day life.

I feel a loss of energy, a loss of interest and a loss of motivation. I don’t remember the last time that I sung in the shower. It’s been months since I blasted out my favourite music and danced alone in the living room. And don’t ask me what I look forward to when I wake up in the morning, because I simply don’t have an answer.

It’s tragic, it’s heart breaking, but most of all, it’s very confusing.

Figuring out why we are not happy is a very difficult thing. Figuring out what to do to make ourselves happy is even harder.

Even if we find out why we are not happy, there could be things about certain situations that we simply cannot change. We cannot always move away if we’re unhappy with the place in which we live, we cannot always leave our job if we know that it is making us stressed, we cannot always heal ourselves if we are unwell, we cannot change the people around us if they are bringing negativity into our lives.

So what can we do if we realise that we are unhappy?

For the moment, I am not going to leave my current city, I am not going to change my job and I am not (and cannot) transport my best friends to my city. All I can do is to change a few things in my every day life, which could give me energy, inspiration and joy.

My happiness project for the next month is as follows:

1) Go for a walk every day.

Promenade

2) Wake up at the same time every day (apart from Sundays, of course).

3) Go to bed before midnight, or preferably at 11pm.

4) Find a music teacher and practice the guitar every day.

girl guitarist

5) Read a fairytale.

6) Buy myself something pretty to wear.

7) Go to see a classical music concert.

8 ) Do some sport every day. Dancing, yoga, aerobics, jogging, stretching, walking with heavy shopping bags…

9) Do something that I am scared of (call to ask for a job opportunity, enter a competition, apply for a course, book a trip away, start writing a novel)

10) Go to one new social event a week – alone.

11) Write one story or poem a week.

12) Set an evening every week for personal pampering.  Beauty treatments, meditation, learning how to do a new hair style, taking a bath, listening to music with eyes closed…

13) Try a new recipe every week.

14) Buy a juice making machine, and drink fresh fruit juice at least three times a week.

15)  Go to a new place in the city every week.

16) Edit any of the above points if they start making me unhappy.

17) Create a blog-report on each week of the happiness-project.

 

My happiness project starts today – I have five minutes to get myself ready for bed in time for my curfew!

***

What activities would you put on your own happiness-project list?

21 Responses to “Happiness Project”

  1. nrhatch 03/11/2011 at 22:33 #

    Good luck. Our happiness is tied to our thoughts. When we change our thoughts . . . we change our life.

    Enjoy the path as it unfolds before you.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:34 #

      Thank you. You are right – everything is in the mind. And there are many activities thatcan help create positive thoughts for me.

  2. MadCapCampaign 03/11/2011 at 23:04 #

    Those are all really cool activities to set for yourself. However, if you find yourself not meeting some of the goals, it might make you unhappier. Many of your goals are activities that call for action, going somewhere. I would suggest adding in some lazy activities for when you don’t have much energy . . . like drinking tea and watching the sunset.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:36 #

      Thank you very much for your suggestions. In the past ten months I have been taking pleasure in those ‘lazy’ activities that you mention, which brought me a lot of peace and happiness as I didn’t know how to relax before! But now I feel that I need to be more active, hence the very active list! Perhaps sometime soon I will learn to get a balance…

  3. Patricia 03/11/2011 at 23:10 #

    Your happiness inspiring ideas sound good.

    I would add a quiet time every day; a time of meditation and prayer. If I did not have this time apart I would fall apart! I have found the happiness manifested on the outside is from within.

    Looking forward to sharing your journey.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:37 #

      That’s a great thing to do. I used to set time aside for meditation and prayer, too, and this really kept me grounded and balanced. Thank you for reminding me about this healing ‘activity’.

  4. WeeBanshee 03/11/2011 at 23:18 #

    I applaud you for pursuing happiness! For better or worse, my life is so crazed with activity (life, kids, writing) that I often don’t have time to reflect on whether I’m happy or not. I think this is a good thing as downtime, especially as winter approaches, is not a good thing. So. I keep projects “on the shelf” – emergency happiness rations, if you will.
    1. Painting. As in my house. When I’m really depressed, an entire main floor can go from white to purple to orange and back again. The Home Depot l-o-v-e-s me.
    2. Books. If I’m blocked and miserable, I let someone else’s writing pull me along. Library is best but if I’m desperate, a bookstore will do.
    3. Sleep. Sometimes I’m just tired.

    Good luck !!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:39 #

      Thank you very much! Oo, I’d love to repaint my walls, I can imagine it being very therapeutic, due to its active and creative nature. I may try painting on a smaller scale, first, though 😉

  5. 1 Story A Week 04/11/2011 at 02:19 #

    I love this! I wish more people would take your approach to their own happiness. Giving up only takes the joy out of life and robs the world of the beauty each of us has to add to the picture. I wish you the best of luck with all my heart.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:40 #

      Thank you very much! I agree, I wouldn’t want unhappiness to take over me by just sitting around and not doing anything. We must at least try to bring light back into our lives!

  6. Piia 04/11/2011 at 08:28 #

    A project for today for me as well, I think, this is, thinking of a happiness project for myself. And you’re very right, there are things in our lives that we really, really can not change even if they are making us unhappy. This is something I’ve personally had to come to terms with in the past couple of years. I don’t know, maybe it’s a question of changing the things that can be changed, and coming to terms with the ones that can not be changed. Accepting an imperfect life, I guess, but really, I do not know. That is a journey I’m still on. I really hope you can find happiness in all the things in your life that are good, and in yourself, who are obviously a person full of love. I wish you peace, my friend.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 04/11/2011 at 21:44 #

      Accepting an imperfect life is something I’ve been finding difficult, too. As a child I never thought for one second that my life wouldn’t turn out the way I imagined, now I know that life will bring what I least expect! Although we are never fully in control of what happens in our lives, we can at least make decisions to change the small things. I hope to do so with my happiness project. Thank you for your kind wishes and I wish you joy and peace with all my heart, too.

  7. Rasta teacher 05/11/2011 at 21:01 #

    First, here is an electronic hug *- O -*
    and secondly
    if you have the music program Spotify here is a good play list that makes me happy

    if you need an invite just mail me and I’ll send you one (Spotify is free though) rastateacher at gmail.com

    Positive- Music with niceness and happiness

    good luck

    • l0ve0utl0ud 06/11/2011 at 16:48 #

      Thank you very much! Here is an electronic hug in return! I do not yet have spotify but will sign up to check your happy playlist. Thank you so much for sharing.

  8. Kate 21/11/2011 at 15:33 #

    I look forward to keeping up with your progress every week. I know this is from a couple weeks ago and you’ve started. I look forward to the continued postings and such. I think this is a wonderful thing for you to do for yourself and wish you all the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life is More Than an Adventure « Love Out Loud - 09/11/2011

    […] I mentioned last week, I have been feeling unhappy in the city (and hence country) to which I moved ten months ago. I […]

  2. Happiness Project – Week 1 « Love Out Loud - 10/11/2011

    […] been one week since the start of my happiness project. I am proud (and happy!) to say that I managed to do 9 of the 15 activities on my […]

  3. Happiness Project – Week II « Love Out Loud - 18/11/2011

    […] weeks ago I realised that I was unhappy. I started a Happiness Project with a list of activities to introduce into my everyday life in order to bring positivity back into […]

  4. Happiness Project – Week V « Love Out Loud - 08/12/2011

    […] first know who we are not. Could the same theory work for happiness? During this past month of my Happiness Project, I have come to realise a few key things that make me […]

  5. Thank You 2011 « Love Out Loud - 17/01/2012

    […] Showing me that we are the creators of our own happiness. […]

Leave Some Love

