Happiness Project – Week II

17 Nov

Two weeks ago I realised that I was unhappy. I started a Happiness Project with a list of activities to introduce into my everyday life in order to bring positivity back into my life.

Here are my thoughts on Week II of the Happiness Project:

1) It makes me happy to have a day with a range of activities. It is most satisfying to have had a day with both mental, physical and creative activities.

2) There is not enough time in the week to do all of the things I’d like to do. But even doing one or two of these things brings joy and fulfilment.

3) Unexpected activities can bring more happiness than planned ‘happiness’ activities. I guess we can never plan out a happy day/week/life

4) Doing things for and with others brings me happiness. I often read in magazines and self-development books that we should ‘do something for ourselves’ to feel happier, but events in the past week seem to show the contrary.

5) My Happiness Project is really shedding light onto things that are very important, important, not important and unrelated to my happiness. Trying to implement my happiness resolutions into my everyday life shows whether or not doing certain things actually makes any difference to how I feel.

6) Some of my reasons for being unhappy are stupid. Yes, I admit it. But they are also things we have been made to believe by adverts and society. They are thoughts in the mind, yet how to get rid of them? First step – acceptance.

7) Things such as the passing of time, change and the future have been causing anxiousness in me for the first time in ten months. My thoughts about these things are usually full of doubt and worry. This leads to a state of nervousness and stress. Question to ask myself: why am I scared of these things?

jumping happiness8 ) Doing nothing and having too much free time brings unhappiness. I have noticed this both in myself and in others. The people who say that they did ‘absolutely nothing’ on their day off are the ones with the least energy and positivity. The people with activities and hobbies keep their body and minds active, avoiding laziness, apathy and over thinking. The latter group have no time to worry about the future because they are constantly living in and enjoying the present.

9) We can if we want to, but a lot of times we just can’t be bothered/are scared/give excuses/settle for the easy option/take the safe path/don’t believe/don’t want to fail…the list can go on. This week, we managed to get tickets for a fully-booked concert through research, phone calls and negotiation. At the beginning of the week, our attitude was “It’s fully-booked, why bother wasting time if we won’t get the tickets, anyway?”. It seems like there is always a solution!

10) Our happiness is not the most important thing on earth, contrary to modern popular thought. Our happiness should not be more important than respect towards others, helping, gratitude, thoughtfulness, care, effort, amongst many others. We cannot let our mood affect our relationships and our communication with others. I met people this week who were homeless and unemployed, yet they smiled, said please and thank you with genuine emotions, and wished everyone an excellent day. This taught me a lesson about taking out my bad mood on my close ones.

***

Aims for Week III:

-Give more energy to doing and sharing things with the people close to me.

-Remind myself of all that I am grateful to have.

-Go rollerblading.

 

6 Responses to “Happiness Project – Week II”

  1. balancingstick 18/11/2011 at 22:43 #

    So inspirational!!! The last point about how our happiness is not the most important thing is what I need to work on the most. Thank you :-).

    • l0ve0utl0ud 20/11/2011 at 14:14 #

      Yes, we tend to obsess so much over our own happiness that we don’t even take the time to give a bit of happiness to others. “Thousands of candles can be lighted from a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.”
      Buddha

  2. Flamingo Dancer 19/11/2011 at 01:20 #

    Often I think we misconstruct what happiness really is. We also have to expect not to be happy all the time. Happiness is not walking around with a smile all day, happiness can just be living a life that means something to us.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 20/11/2011 at 14:09 #

      Yes, I agree. Happiness is not a permanent state of being. But there are many things we can do to create those special moments filled with joy.

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster 20/11/2011 at 20:27 #

    #10 resonates especially strongly with me. I do believe we should both seek and embrace happiness, but–as you said–that it should not be the only motivator, as it is with a few folks I know who have ceased noticing anyone else. :/

    • l0ve0utl0ud 21/11/2011 at 17:36 #

      With so much focus on happiness in today’s society, it’s very easy to get too focused on ourselves, thus failing to give and share with others.

Leave Some Love

