Thank You for Reminding Me

3 Dec

“It’s sunny outside”, for the first time in what seemed like months I lifted my head from my computer and looked out of my window.

My stunned eyes took in the beauty of the park in front of my house. When was the last time that I took notice of what was around me? As if in a trance, I got up from my desk and opened the balcony door. Like Alice in Wonderland I felt like I’d stepped into a fabulous new world.

A world where birds skip from tree to tree, and children ride scooters singing. A world where teenagers swing their rucksacks as they walk home from school. A world where elderly men smoke pipes as they carry fresh baguettes home for lunch.

The world right outside my window had become more distant than riots in Egypt, presidential campaigns in Russia and the state of the stock exchange. For weeks I was focused on one thing only: my work. New responsibilities, new expectations, new commitments. I would wake up with one thought in mind: to perform as well as I can at my job.

I studied, I focused and I worked. Sales, economy and business. All my thought-power and energy going onto my computer screen. All my thought-power and energy going onto things happening thousands of miles away. Laws, regulations and – most importantly – results.

This is not what you’re here for. Your work is not your reality.

I stood on my balcony for the first time in weeks.

Peace. Silence. Sunshine.

Rays of sun were warming the plants that I hadn’t watered for weeks.

A soft breeze came shyly towards me to say hello. We hadn’t seen each other for months. He wondered whether I remembered the moments we’d spent together in spring.

Leaves were yellow and discreet. Trees danced with eyes closed. They nodded to me with a smile, feeling my presence.

I breathed.

This is not what you’re here for. Your work is not the reality you wish.

The sun waited for me every day, but soon it let the clouds take over.

The birds sang outside my window, but soon moved to more welcoming lands.

The trees whispered sweet secrets, but fell silent when they realised that no-one was listening.

I was too busy thinking about international relations and corporate reputations to notice.

This is not what you came here for.

I know. Thank you for reminding me.

4 Responses to “Thank You for Reminding Me”

  1. Lenore Diane 03/12/2011 at 12:56 #

    Beautiful!

  2. kaleighsomers 04/12/2011 at 00:25 #

    Hi,

    I’m working on improving my blog (Rewriting Life) and wondering what you like (or don’t like) about it and what made you subscribe? I’m trying to get feedback from readers – new and old, ones who don’t read anymore or still look at every post.

    Any thoughts you’re willing to share?

    Thanks 🙂

    ps. Sorry for the comment. Wanted to email ya but couldn’t find one on your site. If you’re interested in shooting me one back, it’s kaleighsomers@gmail.com.

  3. pattisj 04/12/2011 at 04:24 #

    How refreshing a soft breeze and sunshine on one’s face can be. We have to remember to make time for those, a lesson I’m still learning.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 05/12/2011 at 22:09 #

      Indeed, these are precious things, but very hard to appreciate them in everyday life!

Leave Some Love

