Happiness Project – Week V

8 Dec

I once read somewhere (possibly in the Conversations With God series) that in order to know who we are, we must first know who we are not. Could the same theory work for happiness? During this past month of my Happiness Project, I have come to realise a few key things that make me unhappy.

I have written a list of these things below, with an accompanying reminder that could help me reverse my thought process and turn unhappiness into positivity.

 

Things that make me unhappy (and their antidote):

1)      Thinking about the future.

2)      Comparing myself to other people.

3)      Trying to live up to other people’s expectations.

4)      Focusing too much on myself.

5)      Being too busy.

6)      Spending too much energy on my job.

7)      Living by other people’s rules/beliefs/values.

8)      Judging myself – negatively.

9)   Losing faith and hope.

***

What kinds of things/thoughts bring negativity into your life?

In what way can you reverse these to create joy and fulfilment?

12 Responses to “Happiness Project – Week V”

  1. neenadubey 09/12/2011 at 01:05 #

    beautiful thoughts …and
    so true!

  2. pattisj 09/12/2011 at 01:56 #

    Sometimes it’s the things others say that bring negativity. I stopped taking it to heart.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 09/12/2011 at 23:22 #

      Yes, so many people around us with so many differing opinions! We can never be perfect in anyone’s eyes, so we should stop trying!

  3. nrhatch 09/12/2011 at 18:57 #

    Great list. Everyone of those sources of “unhappiness” stems from the Ego’s desire to pull us out of the NOW.

    When we are busy experiencing THIS moment, we are happy. When we are lost in thought with comparisons, judgments, preconceptions, etc. . . . unhappiness gains a foothold.

    Be Here Now.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 09/12/2011 at 23:21 #

      You’re right – thank you for reminding me about the Ego! I had learnt so much about it from Deepak Chopra, but it had gone to the back of my mind/conscious. I am really trying to focus on the present and it is having positive effects already. Thank you for your beautiful advice.

  4. strawberryindigo 09/12/2011 at 21:46 #

    Beautiful and inspiring. By far the BEST I have read in a long time. I think I love the butterfly one the most. I will carry those words with me all day and beyond.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 09/12/2011 at 23:19 #

      Thank you very much. The quotes that I found are truly inspiring and I hope that they will bring positivity into the lives of those who read them.

  5. sufilight 10/12/2011 at 00:18 #

    So glad we connected! I enjoyed reading this, it made feel inspired!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/12/2011 at 00:18 #

      Thank you very much. Very happy to have found your blog 🙂

  6. Rasta teacher 10/12/2011 at 12:30 #

    Looove number 9 🙂

    Peter Tosh said something about number 3 that i like:

    “I’m not in this world to live up to your expectations,
    neither are you here to live up to mine”

    http://www.youtube.com/user/TheRastateacher?feature=mhee#p/f/6/gAetSwVewSc

    Good luck on your positive journey,
    Perfect love!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 12/12/2011 at 23:20 #

      Thank you for sharing this beautiful song, and for your well-wishes. Peace and love to you too.

Leave Some Love

