Change of Perspective

19 Jan

“I’ve never seen this before”, I thought to myself as I looked out of my kitchen window. For the first time in a year I saw a group of tall trees, flexible like ballerinas, swaying their fragile limbs to the rhythm of the wind. In the morning sun their leaves were shaking with excitement and drops of dew were shimmering in the soft light.

A deep sense of peace came over me as I watched them wave their branches playfully to the skies.

“Why have I not noticed them before?” I asked myself, surprised and disappointed.

The answer was simple enough – I had never looked out of the window from this angle. For the first time in a year, I decided to lean on the kitchen cupboard while drinking my coffee, putting me at a diagonal to the window and changing the view that I was used to seeing.

A small change of perspective and everything looked different – even the things that I have looked at several thousands of times before now took on a different meaning.

Can a change in perspective change the view from your window?

12 Responses to “Change of Perspective”

  1. pattisj 20/01/2012 at 05:42 #

    Beautiful, I’d definitely welcome a new perspective like that.

    • strawberryindigo 21/01/2012 at 06:15 #

      Great post. You have inspired me to take a “new” look at some “old” views. Maybe all I need are some new eyes.

      • l0ve0utl0ud 29/01/2012 at 21:28 #

        It’s often just a change of perspective that can give a new meaning to our daily lives.

  2. nrhatch 21/01/2012 at 22:23 #

    Looking at things from a different perspective . . . makes all the difference. 😀

  3. parentingalive 23/01/2012 at 01:09 #

    Lovely post, it really drew me in from the first sentence…very inviting, and well written, with a lovely message.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 29/01/2012 at 21:29 #

      Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed reading it.

  4. Littleskew 24/01/2012 at 12:17 #

    How inspiring

    The image is very beautiful; thank you for sharing

  5. Leslie 01/02/2012 at 13:23 #

    “Perspective changes everything.” I love the way you’ve captured that idea with this picture and post. Beautiful!

  6. Lighthearted Soul 08/02/2012 at 22:05 #

    A wonderful reminder and a lovely photo. I really enjoy your writing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday, way to start the week O/… « Today I think… - 23/01/2012

    […] Love Out Loud […]

Leave Some Love

