Jazz and Collages

5 Feb

One of my favourite things to do on a winter evening is listen to jazz and make collages.

Collage

A recent collage

I started making collages two years ago, after my yoga teacher asked everyone in the class to “go home and make a mood board”. In fact, “our subconscious works with images”, she said “so it is more useful to look at an image of what we wish to bring into our lives, rather than to make a list of New Year’s resolutions, for example”.

In order to pick out images that relate to our subconscious, our yoga teacher gave us the following instructions:

1)      Set aside at least half an hour in your day for solely this activity.

2)      Create a calm atmosphere: light candles, put on relaxing music, dim the lights, take a few deep breaths, clear your mind.

3)      Have a selection of magazines and newspapers ready. It doesn’t matter what they are, as long as they have pictures in them!

4)      Flick through the magazines and cut out all images that you feel immediately attracted to. Don’t think about it – your ‘gut’ choice may be surprising or unexpected to your rational mind, but the important thing is to go with your gut feeling.

5)      Put all of the images together either into a frame that you can hang up in a visible place in your home, or into a large art notebook, to which you can add images regularly.

6)      Keep on looking out for images that seem meaningful to you – ask friends to give you their old magazines, pick up free newspapers and leaflets, take photos, print out images from the internet that you love. Keep on building up your mood board and make new ones when the older ones no longer seem relevant.

After having made our collages, my yoga classmates and I began discovering amazing things manifest themselves in our lives. A girl who had chosen an image of a horse walking on a beach was soon invited by a cousin to do horse-riding along the sea. I had made collages based around photos of the beach and nature, to find myself moving to the South of France half a year later.

Collages not only remind our subconscious of what we truly want, but they add a personal and warm touch to our homes. In my kitchen and my living room I have collages that reflect my desires. These carry so much more meaning for me than the artwork of an unknown (or famous) artist hanging on my wall, because they are something that my subconscious itself has chosen and created.

Collage

Kitchen Collage

I also have a large art book, to which I regularly add images from any magazines I can get my hands on. I choose a page in the book that I particularly like and put it on a visible place in my home. Looking at these images brings me a sense of peace and comfort.

 Collage

Another favourite from my book

Try it yourself: set aside half an hour this week to make a mood board. Follow the instructions above and keep your mood board in a visible place. Let your subconscious and the universe do the rest!

11 Responses to “Jazz and Collages”

  1. nrhatch 05/02/2012 at 21:24 #

    I created a vision board collage recently . . . inspiring and FUN!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/02/2012 at 22:39 #

      I really enjoy making them – it’s very relaxing!

  2. Patricia 05/02/2012 at 22:28 #

    I think I am being led to do this since this is about the 5th or 6th time I have read or been told about this type of art.

    Your collages are interesting and very pretty–mine probably won’t have as much healthy stuff 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/02/2012 at 22:39 #

      Ah this definitely must be a sign! Give it a go! For ‘healthy’ images you just need to get some health magazines 😉

  3. Kate 08/02/2012 at 01:40 #

    What a cool idea! … *looks left and then right* *passes you a note*…. http://jeangreyphoenix.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/passing-notes/

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/02/2012 at 22:43 #

      Wonderful idea! Will send you a reply soon 🙂

  4. loustar02 08/02/2012 at 13:26 #

    I love this idea. It just so happens I have a stack of old magazines at home that I was going to send on their way to recycling but might now find another use for them.

    Beautiful pictures of yours above – very inspiring!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 08/02/2012 at 22:44 #

      If you have a stack of old magazines, then this is the PERFECT time to make a collage! My recycled magazines barely resemble magazines at all – to an outsider they probably just look like scraps of paper 😉

  5. pattisj 09/02/2012 at 17:13 #

    I’ve always clipped things I liked from magazines, and keep them in a large envelope. This is a great idea to put them out where they can be seen.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/02/2012 at 17:53 #

      Putting them into a visible place will bring you many positive emotions every time you look at them!

  6. Bindu John 13/06/2012 at 09:31 #

    Should try that. Looks very interesting. I have a lot of old magazines with pictures in it. Will be a good activity with my kids.

Leave Some Love

