In the Stillness, I Remembered

10 May

Today, I stopped for ten minutes, and I suddenly remembered why I was here.

I stepped out onto the balcony, and, as the fresh smell of wet earth hit my nostrils, I realised that this was the first time in months that I’d paid attention to my immediate surroundings.

I stood in silence – smelling, listening, looking.

I smelt the earth, the grass, the rain, and I remembered that I am living in a place with abundant and beautiful nature.

I heard children laughing, birds chirping and a rooster calling, and I remembered that I am living in a place full of simple joys.

I saw clouds gliding slowly across a blue sky, and I remembered that I am living in a place of peace.

The trees were barely breathing and the magnificent sun lit up the remaining drops of rain on the leaves, giving the impression that all the trees were covered in jewels.

Ten minutes of silence, ten minutes of stillness – that’s all it took for me to remember.

For months I’d been unhappy, unfulfilled and confused. For months my thoughts had been on the future – on what I should and could do to be happier, on where I should and could go to be more fulfilled, on whom I should and could meet to see things clearer. For months my thoughts have been on vague plans, on vague people, on vague possibilities. For months, I have been seeking happiness and fulfilment everywhere but here and now.

And then today, I stood still in silence for ten minutes and I remembered…

I am here, in this place, because I wanted to be somewhere quiet.

I am here, because I wanted to be close to nature.

I am here, because I wanted to be near the sea.

I am here, because I wanted a calm life.

I am here, because I wanted to live simply.

I am here, because I wanted to experience all of these things with the person I love.

I am here, because it was my dream to be here.

Funny, how we forget such important things in the rush of daily life.

What will YOU remember in ten minutes of silence?

12 Responses to “In the Stillness, I Remembered”

  1. ladyfi 10/05/2012 at 16:36 #

    Just beautiful! You are living your dream.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/05/2012 at 18:10 #

      Yes, although sometimes I forget that I am! That is why moments of stillness like this are so precious, because they remind me of this.

  2. pattisj 11/05/2012 at 00:40 #

    Sometimes we lose our focus, but it is right in front of us, all the time. It felt so peaceful reading your words.

  3. Currie Rose 11/05/2012 at 05:12 #

    This post is so completely delightful. Thank you. I suddenly remember why I am here. I am where I am because of the mountains. I am here because of the clean air. I am here because of the good people. I am here because I feel closer to myself than I ever have anywhere else. 🙂

  4. strawberryindigo 11/05/2012 at 19:23 #

    Inspiring and well-written. …and something I needed to hear right now. thanks.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/05/2012 at 13:23 #

      I hope that the stillness will tell you many things, too…

  5. Lenore Diane 12/05/2012 at 14:13 #

    Thank you. You have such a peaceful way with words and life reminders.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/05/2012 at 13:24 #

      Thank you for your kind words. I hope you find peace and stillness this beautiful Sunday.

  6. tammyrowlandcoaching 14/05/2012 at 12:53 #

    It is easy to forget, but gratefully just takes a moment to remember. Being present to the day, a moment makes the difference of an ordinary day and one with the warmth of wonder and filled with curiosity that gives us a feeling of why we are here at this moment of time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Lovely Blog Award « Love Out Loud - 26/08/2012

    […] Nature always calms and grounds […]

Leave Some Love

