120 Day “Do What You Love Challenge”

24 May

Two weeks ago I signed up to the 120 Day “Do What You Love Challenge”, choosing writing as my daily activity (this includes poetry, blogging, articles, short stories, songs etc.).

I decided to take the challenge for several reasons. Despite loving writing I:

  • do not write regularly
  • feel guilty spending time writing
  • do not consider writing as an ‘important’ or ‘useful’ activity

Yet despite all of this I:

  • wish I could spend more time writing
  • feel unfulfilled when I do not write for a long stretch of time
  • always have writing on my mind

Quite a paradox, isn’t it?

Just like Pollyanna Darling says – we often feel guilty doing what we love, because doing what we love has no goal apart from enjoying ourselves and feeling happy. We have become used to doing activities that bring a certain visual or material result, and we think that everything else is ‘pointless’ or ‘a waste of time’.

Indeed, writing won’t make the house cleaner and it won’t speed up the flat-hunting. Writing won’t give me a pedicureWriting in notebook on footsteps and it won’t find me a new flat. Writing won’t fill out the forms I have to send and it won’t buy me summer clothes.

BUT…it won’t get in the way of me doing those things, either.

I seem to have always had the false belief that in spending some time writing, I was choosing writing – a ‘pointless’ activity – over another – ‘useful’ – activity. After two weeks of writing every day, I realised that it is not a question of choosing one activity over the other, it is a question of making time for both.

Although I’ve only been spending ten to thirty minutes writing per day, I feel more fulfilled and calmer. I’ve seen that I have enough ideas to produce something every day and that every day brings new ideas. I’ve also started writing poetry again – something that I had abandoned for many years, giving the excuse that I was ‘not inspired’.

Perhaps it wasn’t inspiration I was lacking all along, but the courage to do what I love…

18 Responses to “120 Day “Do What You Love Challenge””

  1. sura 24/05/2012 at 22:14 #

    Hi! I just discovered your blog when you left a kind comment for me on MYO. It’s funny you talk about this , because I often feel the same way. Writing every day is like a prayer. It cleanses and feeds me. Saw this today and thought you’d appreciate! Neil Giaman’s commencement speech: http://vimeo.com/42372767

    • l0ve0utl0ud 28/05/2012 at 22:24 #

      Wow, what an amazing video, thank you SO MUCH for sharing it with me! It is very inspiring and so many things Neil Gaiman said really had a meaning for me at this moment in my writing path. I will be watching it many times again, to remind myself that many creative people out there are on the same journey.

  2. Pollyanna Darling 25/05/2012 at 00:09 #

    Brilliant!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 28/05/2012 at 22:25 #

      Thank you for inspiring me to take the challenge – it is having a profound effect on me. I will keep you updated on my progress!

  3. Lenore Diane 25/05/2012 at 00:14 #

    May you continue to make time to do what you love.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 28/05/2012 at 22:25 #

      Thank you for your kind wish – I hope I will always have time to write each day!

  4. neenadubey 25/05/2012 at 02:13 #

    hi…thanx for this piece! it’s, just for me! I love to write but have 100 excuses not to do so….just like you said..
    the courage and a little discipline is what i need!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 28/05/2012 at 22:26 #

      Precisely – I am/was exactly like you – there was always something else that was ‘more important’ or ‘more urgent’ than writing. Now I know that I can make at least ten minutes for it each day!

  5. pattisj 25/05/2012 at 04:43 #

    It’s so true, whether writing, or creating is some other way. It always has to take a backseat to the things that “need” to be done. At least in my case. I find that I miss having that outlet, and if time isn’t made for it, it won’t happen.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 28/05/2012 at 22:27 #

      You’re right – we must MAKE the time ourselves, because, after all, we have enough time in the day to fit everything in. We just need to prioritise what is truly important 😉

  6. Shireen 29/05/2012 at 22:01 #

    what a great post! you have said it perfectly….i really enjoy reading your writing and will def be back to visit!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 20/06/2012 at 17:03 #

      Thank you very much for your visit and I look forward to seeing you back at Love Out Love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do What You Love – One Month In « Love Out Loud - 11/06/2012

    […] been a month since I started the 120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge, in which I decided to write every day for four […]

  2. 60 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 13/07/2012

    […] has been sixty days since I started the 120-day “Do What You Love” Challenge. Sixty days! That means I am half-way […]

  3. Three Months of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 11/08/2012

    […] months ago, I started the 120–Day “Do What You Love” Challenege, in which I decided to write every day for 120 days. The creator of the challenge – Pollyana […]

  4. One Lovely Blog Award « Love Out Loud - 26/08/2012

    […] I am taking part in the 120-day “Do What You Love” Challenge, in which I have decided to write every day for four […]

  5. The 117th Day « Love Out Loud - 04/09/2012

    […] This is my 117th day of the 120-day “Do What You Love Challenge”. Spread the LoveFacebookTwitterStumbleUponDiggEmailMoreLinkedInRedditPrintLike this:LikeBe the […]

  6. 120 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 08/09/2012

    […] is the 120th day of the 120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge, in which I have written (almost) every day for the past four […]

Leave Some Love

