Do What You Love – One Month In

11 Jun

It’s been a month since I started the 120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge, in which I decided to write every day for four months.

After just two weeks of writing every day, I had learned a lot about the role of writing in my life, as well as my attitudes to it.

Now, after a month of writing every day – be it a poem, a description or a philosophical idea – one main thought occupies my mind: I can’t believe that I’ve got this far!

You see, I was scared of starting the challenge for fear of not being able to complete it.

Why did I fear not being able to do something that I love?

Well, I was scared that, were I to ‘force’ myself to do my loved activity every day, I would actually cease to love it.

I was also scared that I wouldn’t have the will-power to make time for writing.

Like all creative people, I was scared of discovering that I am rubbish at what I do.

And, I was scared of being so scared of all of these things, that my fear would block me from writing.

A month into the challenge, were any of my fears realised?

Fear 1: no – I love writing even more now that I do it every day.

Fear 2: yes and no – I have made time for writing, however, I did miss one or two days of writing because I have been putting it off to the evening, when fatigue sometimes overpowers creativity.

Fear 3: no – so far, I haven’t been judging what I’ve written; I have simply been enjoying the process of writing.

Fear 4 – no – once I’m writing, I lose myself in the process and forget everything else, including my fears.

Now that I know that I can and do write every day, and that I am enjoying it, too, the next step is to set aside more time for writing. As I’ve said before, I feel guilty spending time writing, which explains why I put it off to the end of my day. Therefore, for the next month, I will set aside thirty minutes to writing first thing in the morning.

As Peter De Vries said:

“I write when I’m inspired, and I see to it that I’m inspired at nine o’clock every morning”.

9 Responses to “Do What You Love – One Month In”

  1. ahamin 11/06/2012 at 17:15 #

    I’m glad you have mustered the time and the will to sit and write every day… which is the hardest part for all authors. The best author in the world could be out there and we may never hear of him/her because she/he was too lazy to sit down and write
    Good luck

    • l0ve0utl0ud 12/06/2012 at 10:56 #

      You’re right! An artist must not only have talent and inspiration, but will-power! It’s a great challenge to combine both in order to produce great work.

  2. Patricia 12/06/2012 at 00:15 #

    Yay you! To know what your passion is makes life that much better and bigger. You are doing great with the discipline–good example and very encouraging to those of us that don’t have quite the perseverance you do.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 12/06/2012 at 10:58 #

      I’m sure that you too would be able to complete this challenge – like I said, before starting it I didn’t think I’d be able to last even two weeks! I think the perseverance comes from the fact that I love what it is that I’m doing…otherwise I’m sure I would have given up long ago!

  3. Bindu John 13/06/2012 at 09:10 #

    Great going! And your success has inspired me too. I am planning a lot for my summer vacation but to fulfill them I need to be determined.I WILL! Good luck (to you and me)! 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 20/06/2012 at 16:56 #

      Good luck for all of the things you plan to do over summer! And, as with teaching, always do it with love 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Choose Beauty « Love Out Loud - 04/07/2012

    […] I sat down to do my morning writing, all my thoughts revolved around this beautiful and enlightening message. The following words […]

  2. 60 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 13/07/2012

    […] the first two weeks of the challenge, I rediscovered my passion for poetry. By the end of the first month, my enjoyment of writing overpowered my fears about it. Now, at the end of the second month, I feel […]

  3. 120 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 08/09/2012

    […] Do What You Love – One Month In […]

Leave Some Love

