Morning Walks

13 Jun

The first thing I do is to open the window and take a deep breath of the morning air. Rain or shine, I smile and barely give myself enough time to have breakfast before throwing on my clothes and running outside.

Today, it’s raining. The air is so pure that I can smell each leaf and blade of grass. The birds have taken cover deep within the trees and the only sound I can hear is that of rain drops falling onto my umbrella.

Nature is still as the earth, the flowers and tress humbly receive this gift from the sky.

I walk slowly, running my fingers through the tall grass, tickling the flowers and exploring the texture of each leaf with my fingertips. I place my palm on the trunk of the tallest and wisest tree, and marvel at his age and beauty. All of the tree’s branches start to shake as he acknowledges my presence and shows himself happy to have a new friend.

Back on my path, my thoughts are clear and my emotions are neutral. My steps have fallen into the rhythm of life that the each plant exudes.

I return home feeling as if I’ve discovered a more magical world than Narnia; a world called Nature.

 

11 Responses to “Morning Walks”

  1. Karina 14/06/2012 at 01:12 #

    Really felt like I was with you in that one – beautiful! ❤

  2. Patricia 14/06/2012 at 02:17 #

    I want to go for a walk with you!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 15/06/2012 at 17:01 #

      I’d love for you to join me 🙂 Any time you’re in the South of France, give me a shout!

  3. Jacqueline (@6monthstolive) 16/06/2012 at 00:09 #

    Great post! Walks are the best—I do them almost every day. I also love the allusion to Narnia!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 19/06/2012 at 10:03 #

      Like you, I too go for walks every day…unless the weather really does not allow it!

  4. Cherie Roe Dirksen 18/06/2012 at 16:19 #

    What a beautiful description…I feel like I am walking next to you 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 19/06/2012 at 10:03 #

      Thank you, you should join me on a walk one day 🙂

  5. Frances antoinette 22/06/2012 at 00:16 #

    I am most happy with the sunshine, but when the rain comes, it can be a nice change as well! You are right, the rain heightens the scent of trees and grass — splendid!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 22/06/2012 at 16:35 #

      I enjoy rain when it freshens the earth and air, otherwise, I prefer sunshine, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Changes | Love Out Loud - 20/10/2013

    […] is completely different to the one I lived in two years ago, when I had the time to go for long morning walks, when my evening activities included sitting outside in silence listening to nature, and when my […]

Leave Some Love

