60 Days of Doing What I Love

13 Jul

It has been sixty days since I started the 120-day “Do What You Love” Challenge. Sixty days! That means I am half-way through!

When starting the challenge, I was scared of not being able to complete it – I had never has a strict regular writing practice and was overwhelmed by the thought of having to write every day for four months.

In the first two weeks of the challenge, I rediscovered my passion for poetry. By the end of the first month, my enjoyment of writing overpowered my fears about it. Now, at the end of the second month, I feel like I have broken a wall of fear, of doubt and of denial.

Writing every day has now become a habit, like brushing my teeth. Today, I cannot imagine not writing every day, and a day without writing now seems like a day without purpose.

I wish I had started doing what I love earlier. The whole world seems to change when we are fulfilling our passions. Our vision of life shifts when we add just a drop of our loved activity into our lives. Things suddenly fall into places and our lives take on a new meaning.

We are happier. The center of our day becomes our loved activity, rather than the chores and tasks of every day life. These fall into the background, and become just small passing elements.

When, in our every day lives, we start doing what we love, we see signs everywhere confirming that we are destined to pursue this particular passion. And, for once, we follow them.

We stop caring about what other people are up to, because we know that we have found what is perfect for us, and that no other activity or job could make us happier, even if it makes us richer or more important or more popular.

We lose our bitterness towards the world, which previously did not fulfill us with its daily routine of work, eat, sleep. We realise that no exterior person or thing can give us happiness and fulfillment – we have to create it ourselves.

One Response to “60 Days of Doing What I Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 120 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 08/09/2012

    […] 60 Days of Doing What I Love […]

Leave Some Love

