Three Months of Doing What I Love

11 Aug

Three months ago, I started the 120–Day “Do What You Love” Challenege, in which I decided to write every day for 120 days. The creator of the challenge – Pollyana Darling – recently sent me a few questions about my progress, and I’d like to share my answers with you.

 

 

Have you completed your challenge every day in the last forty days?
No, there were a few days when I did not write. I can give all the excuses I want about it, but the truth is – I simply did not make the time to write. In my last month of the challenge I must force myself to write, even when circumstances make it difficult to do so!

Have you noticed any repeating patterns in your creative/learning process? If so what are they?

For the whole duration of the challenge, I have written mostly in the evening before bed. This means that I didn’t have as much time or energy to write. I have yet to learn to prioritise writing as my first activity of the day!

How have you broken through any challenges you have faced?

1)       The challenge of motivating myself to write every day.

2)       The challenge of setting aside time to write every day.

3)       The challenge of letting myself write what I feel like writing, without setting myself limits or giving myself rules.

What is your relationship to doing your Challenge each day (what do you think/feel about it)?

I love it! Writing gives meaning to my days. I look forward to the moment when I can sit down and write; I really enjoy these moments of creation.

Has your relationship to your activity changed over the last 80 days?

Yes. At first, it was difficult to get into the habit of writing every day and now I cannot imagine a day without writing.

Have you noticed any improvements/changes in your activity since you began the Challenge? If so, what?

I have noticed that practice is the only path to good writing.

What are you doing differently now that you didn’t do before the Challenge (can be related to the Challenge or not)?

It’s not what I do that is different, it’s what I think that is different. The challenge has made me realise that writing is a very big part of my life and I am now accepting this completely. I think writing, so I live writing, so I am writing.

How do you feel about finishing the Challenge?

It is not finishing the challenging that arouses the most emotion in me, it is having started it in the first place that gives me the most joy.

Source: The Keep Calm-O-Matic

15 Responses to “Three Months of Doing What I Love”

  1. verasilver 11/08/2012 at 17:04 #

    Gratz on completing the challenge. Sounds like it look some dedication 🙂 You did really well!

    -Vera

    • l0ve0utl0ud 11/08/2012 at 17:31 #

      Thank you! Although I haven’t completed the challenge yet – still one month to go!

  2. normanlgreen 11/08/2012 at 17:41 #

    are you at work on a single, focused project, or do you write about whatever occurs to you each day?

    • l0ve0utl0ud 11/08/2012 at 18:32 #

      For this challenge, I write anything and everything. I write poems, songs, diary entries, blog posts, ideas and feelings…the list can go on. I decided not to limit myself with just one type of writing or one theme, as my main aim for these 120 days is to simply get into the habit of writing and to experiment.

      • normanlgreen 11/08/2012 at 20:30 #

        to “get into the habit” is a fine goal. i see good habits as rituals with a positive outcome.– best of luck. nlg

      • l0ve0utl0ud 12/08/2012 at 16:18 #

        Thank you very much!

  3. Pollyanna Darling 12/08/2012 at 07:04 #

    Great responses and I love that you have posted them! It’s a funny thing that what gives you such enormous pleasure and purpose is put off until the end of the day, but I (and many others) have the same experience. We humans are complicated creatures. Really looking forward to hearing where you’ve come to when you’ve completed the Challenge. x

    • l0ve0utl0ud 12/08/2012 at 16:19 #

      You’re right – it’s strange that I love writing yet put it off to the last minute! It’s difficult getting out of the mentality of doing the ‘important’ tasks first, but I’m progressing 🙂

  4. Karina 13/08/2012 at 00:05 #

    Well done!! I am thoroughly impressed by your honesty.
    Your consistant persistance will pay off. Always great to read passionate writers doing what they love 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/08/2012 at 10:43 #

      Yes, the challenge is teaching me that persistence is a key factor in writing! Only with daily practice can we truly improve and discover or creativity.

  5. Cherie Roe Dirksen 13/08/2012 at 14:01 #

    Good luck with the rest of your challenge. It sounds like a great way to kick-start being more involved with your passion.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 13/08/2012 at 17:48 #

      Thank you very much! Yes, the challenge definitely helped me to introduce writing into my daily life.

  6. pattisj 15/08/2012 at 23:59 #

    Yes, you’ve started! And you will continue….keep up the good work. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 17/08/2012 at 16:11 #

      Thank you very much! Yes, starting is indeed the hardest part!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 120 Days of Doing What I Love « Love Out Loud - 08/09/2012

    […] Three Months of Doing What I Love […]

Leave Some Love

