I Haven’t Been a Good Friend to You

29 Aug

Dear God,

I have realised that I haven’t been a good friend to You. I seek your company and Your guidance when I feel lost or unhappy, yet when everything is going well I barely give You a second thought.

I run to You in an emergency, I pour out my problems to You on my ‘bad’ days, and I expect You to be there for me every time I feel unhappy or unsatisfied.

And yet, I never thank You for the passing of all the beautiful days You give me. I forget to tell You how happy I am to have passed an interview, found a new home, or made a new friend. I take it for granted that the sky is blue and that the sun is warming my skin. I am blind to all the miracles You perform in my every day life.

I am beginning to realise just how much You do for me. Today, You reminded me to take my umbrella, because You knew it would rain; You whispered poems to the trees, which swayed to the rhythm of Your voice as I walked past. You cleared the clouds to help our tomatoes ripen in the sun, and You gave me ten minutes to drink my tea in stillness and in silence.

I am sorry for having taken You for granted for so long, and I am sorry for having been such a selfish friend. You have continued to give me love and care, despite my ingratitude; You have continued to give, despite not receiving anything in return; You have been loving me unconditionally.

I thank You for everything, and especially for helping me realise my ingratitude.

I promise to be a better friend to You from now on.

All my love,

Your (selfish) friend

3 Responses to “I Haven’t Been a Good Friend to You”

  1. pattisj 29/08/2012 at 22:30 #

    Nice letter to God. We all get wrapped in the busyness of life, so thanks for the reminder to take a moment to be thankful for all things.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 30/08/2012 at 18:32 #

      Yes, it is so easy to get caught up in life and fill our minds with problems and worries, when all around there is a lot of beauty!

  2. daisieelizabeth 21/05/2013 at 06:33 #

    Yes lovely letter. Even when we are far from reaching out to Him He is so faithful! Beautiful letter and beautiful honest heart.

Leave Some Love

