120 Days of Doing What I Love

8 Sep

This is the 120th day of the 120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge, in which I have written (almost) every day for the past four months.

I feel as if I should be celebrating or congratulating myself, but completing the Challenge has not aroused any extreme emotions in me. I guess this is for the simple reason that writing every day has come very naturally to me.

I had many fears when I started the Challenge:

I was scared that, were I to ‘force’ myself to do my loved activity every day, I would actually cease to love it.

I was also scared that I wouldn’t have the will-power to make time for writing.

Like all creative people, I was scared of discovering that I am rubbish at what I do.

And, I was scared of being so scared of all of these things, that my fear would block me from writing.

Now, four months later, I laugh at these fears and thank God that I decided to overcome them.

I never “forced” myself to write every day – I encouraged myself to do it and really enjoyed every moment that I put aside for writing. I never “forced” myself to write anything in particular, either. Every time I sat down to write, I would let my fantasy, my ideas and my emotions express themselves as they wished. Seeing as I always wrote what I enjoyed, I always enjoyed writing it!

I realised that I didn’t necessarily need to put aside an hour for writing every day – even fifteen minutes is enough. In fifteen minutes, I can write a poem, my impressions of the day and even a very short story!

Seeing as I was writing for myself and using each day as an experiment, I never judged my writing to be good or bad. Every new creation was a surprise and a progress.

Very soon into the Challenge, I realised that I enjoy writing so much that my fears fall away as my joy increases.

writing

Pollyanna Darling, founder of the 120-day “Do What You Love Challenge”, said that we often feel guilty about doing what we love, because doing what we love has no goal apart from enjoying ourselves and feeling happy. This was my case, but paradoxically, after four months of doing what I love every day, it is precisely because of this enjoyment and happiness that I continue to write!

I would like to thank Pollyanna Darling for the wonderful idea of the 120 Day “Do What You Love” Challenge. I thank her for encouraging her readers to take part. I thank her for the happiness that writing every day has brought into my life. I thank her for the amazing writing habit that I have now acquired. I thank her for the release of my fears. And, most importantly, I thank her for having taken the step to do what she loves and for having showed us the way.

I am sure that what started as a challenge will continue as a way of life. I wish for others to give the 120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge a go to discover for themselves.

What you love is what you’re gifted at. To be completely happy, to live a completely fulfilled life, you have to do what you love.
  ~Barbara Sher 

Tattoo drawing on palms hands

Related posts:

120-Day “Do What You Love” Challenge

Do What You Love – One Month In

60 Days of Doing What I Love

Three Months of Doing What I Love

The 117th Day

18 Responses to “120 Days of Doing What I Love”

  1. Patricia 09/09/2012 at 01:04 #

    Congratulations on the accomplishment. You have exercised your writing muscles and gotten stronger. You go girl!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 11/09/2012 at 21:09 #

      Thank you! Yes, my writing muscles have definitely been exercised and I hope to keep training them further 🙂

  2. pattisj 09/09/2012 at 05:01 #

    Congrats on reaching your goal, and winning an even bigger prize. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 11/09/2012 at 21:08 #

      Thank you! Yes, you’re right – the prize was the fact of finishing the challenge and feeling very fulfilled!

  3. ladyfi 09/09/2012 at 06:39 #

    How inspiring! Well done you.

  4. Thomas Ross 09/09/2012 at 14:03 #

    A beautiful- and inspirational-post.

    Now how about a zillion days of doing what we love?

    Thanks for sharing your journey.

    Tom

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/09/2012 at 20:10 #

      You’re right – how about a LIFETIME of doing what we love? Sounds amazing 🙂 Let’s give it a go!

  5. Pollyanna Darling 09/09/2012 at 23:44 #

    Woo Hoo – huge congratulations on completing the Challenge!! It’s a major achievement and most people never complete. And even bigger congratulations on giving yourself what you love. Looking forward to reading more of your writing. xx Pollyanna

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/09/2012 at 20:12 #

      Thank you, Pollyanna! It’s been a wonderful 4 months and I am continuing writing every day – it just felt too good to stop 😉

  6. Organized Living Essentials 10/09/2012 at 03:59 #

    Beautifully written with an honest voice. Thank you so much for the inspiration. I love to blog but find it difficult to dedicate the time I would to with all of the other commitments I have in my life. I like how you shared that even fifteen minutes is valid.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/09/2012 at 20:14 #

      I am the same – I do not necessarily have the time to set aside an hour or two for writing or blogging each day. That is why I decided that in my 120-day Challenge I would write whatever I want and for as long as I want (or can). This way I got into the habit of writing every day, and didn’t challenge myself something that would have brought stress, rather than pleasure.

  7. Véronique Cliquet 10/09/2012 at 17:16 #

    Thank you for this post, you have inspired me, I will be starting the challenge next week . I have recently decided to make more room to do more fun things. I love writing too, as a child my essays were always getting top marks, as an adult I feel very shy about writing, however it feels really good and it is so therapeutic! Thank you for giving me the confidence to keep going.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 10/09/2012 at 20:15 #

      I’m very happy that this has inspired you to start the Challenge, too! I wish you the best of luck and look forward to reading about your progress (if you decide to write about it on your blog)!

  8. Andy 15/09/2012 at 23:00 #

    Nice post loveoutloud, and congrats on achieving you goal. Keep on writing. I love it.

    Andy…
    in Truth, love & joy.
    love2ascend.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 6AM Writing Challenge « Love Out Loud - 01/11/2012

    […] if I put my mind to it. However, I already developed a daily writing practice with the help of the 120 day “Do What You Love” Challenge, and my main ideas for a novel require a lot of research and planning: it would be a waste of time […]

  2. 6AM Writing Challenge – Week One « Love Out Loud - 07/11/2012

    […] by night, rambler by morning: When I was doing the 120-day “Do What You Love” Challenge, I wrote for fifteen minutes before going to bed, and usually wrote poems or short stories. In the […]

Leave Some Love

