I am not Rich Enough to Buy Cheap Things

15 Oct

As I fill a bag with clothes to give to charity, I realise that I had bought most of these clothes from charity in the first place. Barely a year later, I am giving almost everything back, without having worn most of it. How to explain this phenomenon?

piles of clothes

I love charity shops for their original finds and low prices. In one particular charity shop, almost every item costs only…1€! The clothes are good quality and one can often find brands such as Deisel, Miss Sixty and Max Mara there.

Last year, when my salary did not allow for frequent high-street shopping trips, I would look for bargains in charity shops. Why waste money on the high-street when I can find such great deals in charity shops, right?

Wrong!

Charity shop shopping can often be like sales shopping – the prices are so low that it seems like a crime not to buy.

“I’m not sure whether this dress is my style”, I have said to myself, or “These shoes don’t quite fit right”, or “I can’t tell whether this coat really suits me”. But, in a charity shop, I have always finished these thoughts with “Well, it’s only 5 €, so I can’t miss out on this fabulous bargain!”

And here I am, a year later, with a bag full of clothes that don’t fit, that are not my style and that do not suit me. I had bought them hoping to save money, but it turns out that I actually wasted my money.

Ill fitting badly fitting shoes

On the other hand, I also own things that are worth a week of my salary. In these cases, it takes me at least an hour in one shop to pick out the perfect item; I try it on several times, walk around the shop with it, check it out from all possible angles, create a mental list of all the places I could wear it to and all the other clothes I could wear it with. I only buy it if ticks all of the boxes and if I really love it.

And this always pays off. These carefully chosen items make me feel good and look great, and last longer, too, because I take careful care of them.

I end up saving money, time and space by owning a few expensive items rather than a wardrobe-full of cheap ones.

After filling up my bag to the brim with unworn charity clothes, I finally understand my mum’s favourite shopping-trip phrase: “I am not rich enough to buy cheap things”.

6 Responses to “I am not Rich Enough to Buy Cheap Things”

  1. pattisj 16/10/2012 at 04:09 #

    That’s an interesting thought. It is much easier to talk oneself into a low-priced purchase.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 18/10/2012 at 07:42 #

      Yes, it is! The best purchases are the ones that are great quality and reasonably priced! 🙂

  2. Organized Living Essentials 18/10/2012 at 06:07 #

    I thought this article was so well written and you bring up a very good point. I too like to shop at charity stores, not only to save money but for the treasure hunt. But lately I have not found too many treasures and find that I am relying more and more on new quality purchases to wear. Thank you for sharing your mother’s wonderful quote!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 18/10/2012 at 07:44 #

      Yes, sometimes it is difficult to find things we like in charity shops because they not only have to be our style, but also our size! I will caryy on charity shop shopping now and again, but will invest in a few quality items, too.

  3. Angelia Sims 23/10/2012 at 07:11 #

    Ah, that is a good point. My mom has TONS of clothes she never wore, but they were a good deal. Lol.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 24/10/2012 at 09:24 #

      Yes, that’s the problem with falling for good deals – that’s exactly how shops catch us out 😉

Leave Some Love

