For the Love of Writing

24 Oct

When asked why they would like to write a novel, most of the students in my writing class replied with reasons such as money or a change of lifestyle. No one in the class said “Because I love writing”.

Writing has become a business. In almost every issue of Writer’s Magazine there is an article explaining to readers how they can make a million pounds with their ebook, blog, self-published novel etc. One article I read recently stated that in order to have a successful book, writers must pick out a target audience before getting started and then write their book to meet their audience’s desires, in order to guarantee sales.

This purely commercial attitude to writing saddens and disheartens me. Personally, I do not write because I want to become filthy rich, but because I enjoy writing. I write about things I love or things I believe in, and I am always deeply fulfilled to finish yet another article or poem or story. Writing in itself brings me joy, and I write every day precisely because the act of writing makes me happy.

I am worried that if writers and the publishing industry continue to focus purely on sales, then future generations will never discover the fun and pleasure of writing as an art. Even today, I wonder where I could find a teacher who could teach me the beauty of written expression, rather than the technique of creating a bestseller.

If you know a writer who writes for the love of writing, send them my way! I have many things I would like to talk to them about…

4 Responses to “For the Love of Writing”

  1. Pollyanna Darling 24/10/2012 at 10:19 #

    I totally agree with you. Imagine how different the world would be if we all created purely for the love of it – the love of language, of creating, of expression … sigh. Let’s start a revolution!

    • l0ve0utl0ud 24/10/2012 at 20:55 #

      Yes, it would be a huge transformation if our actions were always guided by love. I am joining you in this revolution!

  2. pattisj 25/10/2012 at 06:27 #

    I’m with you. I just need to write, no one else has to read it. 🙂

  3. Hermespa Wincastle 12/06/2014 at 06:37 #

    This isn’t true. There are people out there who write because they love to write. But some part of what you said is true too, it has become commercial.

Leave Some Love

