The 6AM Writing Challenge

1 Nov

Today, I wake up earlier than the neighbours, earlier than the sun and even earlier than the birds. It’s dark outside and cold inside, but I’m smiling. This is the first day of my 6AM Writing Challenge and so far I am doing well.

November is known by aspiring writers as National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), in which writers can take part in a challenge to write a novel (50, 000 words) in one month. I had thought about taking part in NaNoWriMo, but decided against it. My main reasons for taking part would have been to develop a daily writing practice and to prove to myself that I can write a whole novel in a month if I put my mind to it. However, I already developed a daily writing practice with the help of the 120 day “Do What You Love” Challenge, and my main ideas for a novel require a lot of research and planning: it would be a waste of time to start without the necessary information, and a shame to rush through something that requires more attention.

Although I decided not to participate in NaNoWriMo, I still felt that I needed a writing challenge for November, and what I needed the most was time to write. Up until now, I would write for fifteen minutes right at the end of the day, and would not set aside quality time for writing, even though my schedule allows for a couple of hours of ‘free time’.  I therefore decided to make use of these hours for writing, but the only way of fitting in these hours into the day was by…waking up earlier.

So here I am, scribbling away as the neighbourhood and nature sleep. For the whole month of November I will be waking up at 6AM to do one hour of writing before starting the day. The 6AM Writing Challenge won’t be easy (I love sleeping!), but it is the only way for me to fit writing into my day.

Whichever creative challenge you are participating in this month – be it NaNoWriMo or your own personal challenge – I wish you all the best of luck and look forward to finding out how you are getting on!

 

14 Responses to “The 6AM Writing Challenge”

  1. kristinapui 01/11/2012 at 08:33 #

    Good luck with your own 6AM challenge! It’s great to see so many people getting creative this month, even if not through Nanowrimo. (:

  2. Roy McCarthy 01/11/2012 at 09:26 #

    Good move. That first hour of the day can be reclaimed for a good purpose, running or…writing. I must get back to those good habits.

  3. Angelia Sims 01/11/2012 at 14:28 #

    Happy November 1st! Sounds like a good plan, and great way to start the day. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 02/11/2012 at 07:47 #

      Thank you! Yes, it really is a great way to start the day – after all, I am starting it by doing something I love!

  4. avenues of artistry 01/11/2012 at 14:38 #

    6am! Serious commitment! I find that to commit time to something it has to be something you love. For me– i always find a way to be making something. even if it’s just a little painting in my journal.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 02/11/2012 at 07:48 #

      You’re right – if we commit to something it must be something we really love or something we really need. It’s been almost a year since I tried getting up earlier to establish a healthier sleeping pattern and health routine, but only now am I managing to actually do this, because my desire to wak up earlier is linked to something I really enjoying doing!

  5. Yaz 04/11/2012 at 22:01 #

    Good luck! I’m not a morning person so don’t understand the 6 am thing! Thanks for your nice comments on my blog. It’s nice to see you there.

    • l0ve0utl0ud 07/11/2012 at 08:11 #

      Thank you! I don’t think I’m a morning person either, although waking up at 6am has made me more alert and awake than before!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 6AM Writing Challenge – Week One « Love Out Loud - 07/11/2012

    […] has been one week since I started the 6AM Writing Challenge, in which, as the title suggests, I wake up at 6AM to write before starting the day. Have I […]

  2. 6AM Writing Challenge – Week Two « Love Out Loud - 17/11/2012

    […] am half way through the 6AM Writing Challenge and the past week has really been just that – a challenge. There were many things going on in my […]

  3. 6AM Writing Challenge – Week Three « Love Out Loud - 23/11/2012

    […] past week of my 6AM Writing Challenge has brought some surprises. On some days, waking up at 6AM brought me a bundle of energy which made […]

  4. A Lark, a Mug and a Dead Poet « Love Out Loud - 06/12/2012

    […] have come to the end of the 6AM Writing Challenge, in which I decided to wake up at 6AM to write every day for a […]

  5. I’m Still Here, Writing Quietly « Love Out Loud - 26/01/2013

    […] I am proud to say that I have kept up my early morning writing habit. I wake up every day at 7 AM (6 AM was just too early in these dark and cold winter times) and […]

Leave Some Love

