6AM Writing Challenge – Week Two

17 Nov

“She’s just waking up, so I’ll get her to call you back.”
“Just waking up?! But it’s already 10AM!”

I am half way through the 6AM Writing Challenge and the past week has really been just that – a challenge. There were many things going on in my personal and professional lives, which made the early mornings extremely difficult. On one particularly busy day, I was awake for twenty hours, and allowed myself to miss the next morning’s early rise for health’s sake.

I must admit that overall I have missed five days of my challenge, three of which were due to fatigue and the other two due to laziness. Although waking up at 6AM has really made a positive change to my life, I often wake up thinking “Why am I awake at 6AM?!”. In those first moments, when I get out of my warm bed and into the cold dark kitchen, I often laugh at the “crazy” challenge I set myself.

However, after breakfast, a sweet coffee and an hour of writing, I feel very satisfied to have started the day so early and in such a way. It’s amazing just how much time I gain by waking up at 6AM.  I have the time to enjoy my mornings rather than rushing through them. I have the time to savour my coffee, to look at the morning sky and to listen to the birds waking. I have the time to reflect upon the day to come and the days passed, and to finish a few things around the house before leaving for work. I have the time to prepare my bag, to choose my clothes and to put on my make-up carefully. I have the time to take my time.

In addition, during the day, I do not worry about setting aside a time for writing or about having enough time to write in the evening. This gives me a peace of mind and allows me to dedicate my evenings to other, usually home and family, activities.

So, despite my daily doubts about the usefulness of the 6AM Writing Challenge, I have been feeling more satisfied in the past two weeks, because I write every day and my writing time does not interfere with any other activities. However, I will need to plan one or two days off a week, to catch up on sleep!

5 Responses to “6AM Writing Challenge – Week Two”

  1. Currie Rose 17/11/2012 at 17:45 #

    Good for you! I love how you wrote, “I have the time to take my time…” I think that’s why I wake up at 5. People often look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them what time I wake up, but I just tell them it’s nice to have time to lolligag and take my sweet time in the morning. 🙂

    • l0ve0utl0ud 18/11/2012 at 22:30 #

      I agree – it really makes a difference when we have some time to ourselves before starting the day! Although I don’t think I could manage 5 am..yet 😉

  2. Thomas Ross 17/11/2012 at 18:37 #

    Keep at it! Not just the writing but also the experience of the morning sky, the birds, the cool air- such an exquisite time of day.

    I love this post.

    Tom

    • l0ve0utl0ud 18/11/2012 at 22:31 #

      Thank you. Yes, getting to experience those first morning moments is one of the best parts of this challenge!

  3. pattisj 19/11/2012 at 04:01 #

    I’m so glad this is working out so well for you. Smart girl catching a little more sleep when you can.

Leave Some Love

